I’m going to rummage through my old posts for a moment and dredge up the ODIN Project. Its intent is to make interactive stories that scale well with lots of participants. These two posts explain why a multiplayer story is hard (seriously, exceedingly hard). If we want our actions to have impact on the story, and want all the players to have that same power, then we start to see the need for an “AI Game Master”.

2012-July-17 [Introducing SPIN]

2012-July-28 [Pen on Paper]

You can skim or just skip them if you like. I doubt I’ve mentioned this, but it’s kind of my life’s dream to accomplish a truly multiplayer adaptive story, and so over the next few weeks, I’m going to break it down.

Last week I talked about what makes a good setting, and how MMOs tend to succeed or fail at those criteria. Now we’re going to take that a step further and explore how to actually represent those kinds of settings in a game. How would a campaign GM create a good setting, and can we get a program to mimic that behavior?

As always, the game design and high-level concepts will be posted here on Critical Hit, and the technical/academic nonsense I use to back it up will be posted over at Synthetic Creativity.

Before we begin, what are your thoughts? Do you believe it’s impossible to create a digital author that can learn? Can computers ever think of stories even close to the caliber of a human narrator? Is this simply beyond our horizon? Leave your comments…

-Musingly,
Machination

